This Hurts Me More Than It Hurts You

17 Sep

Physical beatings aside, this statement is ridiculously true. I am probably more lenient than I should be sometimes, and maybe that is the ultimate problem. I had to drop the hammer on my teenage daughter today, which really bothers me. Because she is a good person with a kind heart, and is responsible when she wants to be. But then that attitude… She lost everything- all her privileges, television, computer, friends and a sleepover that was planned for this evening. I don’t know if she knows how close she came to losing her dance which would have effected a lot more people than just her. But with every syllable I uttered, my heart sank just a little more, and by the time the conversation was done I was hurt just as much by her attitude as I was by the taking away of her privileges.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of course, she thinks I am horrible and mean and have no idea what she is going through. And of course she is wrong. But that doesn’t matter. I am still awful and clueless. *sigh* I just hope I don’t mess this up.

2 Responses to “This Hurts Me More Than It Hurts You”

  1. Alex Kyzer September 17, 2011 at 22:15 #

    Oh my, how I know exactly what you are talking about. I have been on both sides of that conversation; having liberties taken as a child, and taking them from as an adult. When I lost freedom as a child my parents were the devil. Eventually I rebelled and left home. My own experience taught me how thin the line is for a parent. How much behavioral modification can I push on my children to set them straight without having them rebel like I did? There are other variables, age of child, dependency on the parents for survival, easy way out (boyfriend), tools for survival (car, job, money, credit) and most important – self reliance of the child. I think you are good for a few more years, I think I am too. I just hate being the inflictor to correct bad behavior. It is easy to be easy. It is so hard to be hard.

  2. cperkins12 September 19, 2011 at 15:37 #

    She is a very smart young lady. She knows her attitude was out of line. She admitted it to me.

Leave a Reply

