Sometimes Writing is the Best Way to Write!!

13 Feb

WRITE WHAT YOU KNOW…

Ok- so what do I know?

-I know I have a firm grasp on psychology, probably from over-analyzing myself far too often.

-I know I am a good parent.

-I know I am an EMT.

-I know the pain of a failed marriage.

-I know unrequited love.

-I know it’s wrong to stereotype- yet I am still guilty of it.

-I know I hate cynics with a passion- yet I am one.

-I know that being judgmental is wrong- yet I am.

-I know what it feels like to disconnect myself from all emotion in the face of duty- and then allow myself to stand outside the trauma room and feel the sorrowful gut-wrenching sobs of parents mourning their now dead child- and feel their pain to my core.

-I know the warmth of looking into the grateful eyes of someone I have helped.

-I know the stabbing pain of saying something out of anger that I can never take back, only ask forgiveness.

-I know the burning fire of being completely overwhelmed with anger to the point that all rationality ceases to exist.

-I know the guilt of hurting someone I love and feeling completely helpless in doing so.

-I know how mad I get with myself when I can do nothing to comfort that loved one I hurt.

-I know how it feels to question whether you are a good person.

-I know how it hurts to love someone, knowing I am loved in return, and having no power to do anything about it.

-I know the outrage of hearing about wrongs done to children who never had a chance.

-I know the fury and helplessness of holding a child with injuries of violent abuse.

-I know the simple and immeasurable peace of sitting on a beach and listening- with and without others present.

-I know the bliss of falling in love.

-I know the ire of hate.

I began this as an exercise to get my brain working again, as I have been fighting some serious bouts of writers block. After the first few lines, my thoughts did begin to loosen their death grip on my brain and begin to come forth. Then, the images came as my thoughts flowed a little more easily. As the emotions of these simple images, whatever they may have been during the writing of any particular line, began to wake up and stretch their aching muscles from being cooped up for too long, individuals floated in and out of my periphery. Some of those individuals were directly associated with a line, sometimes multiple individuals came to mind for one line and sometimes a single person popped up for me during several lines.

And as I wrote all this out, I wondered how I ever have writers block. I have so much to draw from- so many experiences, so many people.

Then I realized I was, at least partially, un-writers blocked! What a wonderful tool- writing to help myself write! I must remember to remember this exercise sooner than later- next time!

9 Responses to “Sometimes Writing is the Best Way to Write!!”

  1. Jason Wade February 13, 2012 at 09:56 #

    comhghairdeas

    • The Irish Bard February 13, 2012 at 21:51 #

      Ummm??

      • Jason Wade February 14, 2012 at 04:21 #

        Congratulations (in Gaelic)

      • The Irish Bard February 14, 2012 at 13:21 #

        Love it!

      • Jason Wade February 17, 2012 at 09:47 #

        How are you doing with the assignment?

  2. John February 13, 2012 at 10:54 #

    Write what you know. Isn’t that the truth!

    My list would be much shorter than yours! 😉

    • The Irish Bard February 13, 2012 at 21:58 #

      Ha! I doubt that… I am always amazed what falls through the sieve when I clean it out!!!

  3. Alex Kyzer February 13, 2012 at 18:10 #

    Way to kick writer’s block’s arse! Quite the introspective.

    • The Irish Bard February 13, 2012 at 22:00 #

      Yes! Thank you! It only took me six hours to remember I could just start moving my pencil on the paper and in 20 minutes had a decent little post!!! 😛

Leave a Reply

