Quiet

24 May

Silence is not always my friend. Actually, silence is rarely my friend. My brain begins to spin into overdrive and then overheat. That results in damage to my engine and the steam copiously pours from my ears.

But a strange sort of calm has come upon me, of late. It is unlike my past quiet respites from my own feverish over-workings. It feels that the eye of some slow-moving, never-ending storm has passed, and the peace from what I believed to be  the end of the storm- followed by more thunderous destructive wind, rain and hail- may finally be in sight.

Should I take a chance? Should I pull the plywood from my windows, now? Should I open the hatches? Is it safe?

Something tells me safe harbor isn’t far off. I must still work to get my sad, tiny, weather pummeled ship there. But the breeze is warm, the air tastes fresh. I can feel the tease of the sun’s warmth coming out from behind dark curtains.

And I have hope for a beautiful sunset tonight.

One Response to “Quiet”

  1. Alex Kyzer May 24, 2012 at 07:47 #

    I am glad you made it through the storm. I have hope for clear skies.

Leave a Reply

