Asterisks Blow

9 Jul

I am in turmoil. I feel like I am backed into a corner by… what? Rabid dogs?  Angry villagers with pitchforks? A swarm of Georgia sized mosquitos?

No. I am cornered by myself and those who ‘love’ me. I have no outlet- no vent. Sadder yet, one of the few people I would normally get together with to get my head straight, I can’t.

I’m assured it’s better now- things are finally okay. But I feel like that comment comes with that damned tiny little asterisk. The one that says ‘There is more to this story’- the one that says ‘Beware of the legal implications’. The disclaimer at the end of the radio commercial that is rattled off so quickly, you can’t really understand it.

I am scared to research this asterisk. I’m terrified to read the further explanation. Because I am the one who made it. I created it. I conceived it- and it is a small monster. It has taken a chunk of my flesh and now it knows the taste of me. It watches from uncast shadows- and now I can’t escape it.

3 Responses to “Asterisks Blow”

  1. Chace July 11, 2012 at 08:55 #

    There is no asterisk

  2. Me July 19, 2012 at 17:53 #

    …! You have nothing to fear.

  3. rebeccainfla July 20, 2012 at 22:36 #

    One day at a time… Life is not a commercial – it is novel. No asterisks but chapters.

Leave a Reply

